Prof. Neena Gupta Gets 2021 Ramanujan Prize For Young Mathematicians

New Delhi, 13, December, 2021: Professor Neena Gupta has been awarded the ‘Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries 2021’ for her exemplary work in Affine Algebraic Geometry and Commutative Algebra. She is a mathematician at the Indian Statistical Institute (ISI) in Kolkata and is the third woman to receive the Ramanujan Prize.

Prof. Neena Guptaโ€™s Other Achievements

  • Professor Neena Gupta received the ‘Young Scientist’ award from the Indian National Science Academy in 2014. She received this prize for her contribution to Algebraic Geometry.
  • In 2014, she published her first research paper on Zariski’s ‘cancellation problem’. Her paper received an award and was widely recognised by other mathematicians.
  • In 2019, Professor Neena Gupta became one of the youngest people to receive the ‘Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize’ at the age of 35 for solving a 70-year-old mathematics puzzle – Zariski’s Cancellation Problem.

Note: The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology (SSB) is a science award in India. It is given annually by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) for notable and outstanding (applied or fundamental) research in Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Engineering, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics.

Prof. Neena Guptaโ€™s Educational Background

  • Professor Neena Gupta completed Mathematics Honours from Bethune College, Kolkata, in 2006.
  • She completed her post-graduation from the Indian Statistical Institute (ISI) in 2008.ย 
  • Further,ย  Professor Gupta completed her Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Algebraic Geometry from the Indian Statistical Institute (ISI) in 2011.ย 

About Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries

  • The prize is named after Indian mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan.
  • The โ€˜Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countriesโ€™ is given to mathematicians from developing countries who are less than 45 years of age and have conducted substantial research in the field of Mathematics.ย 
  • It is administered by the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) jointly with the Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India, and the International Mathematical Union (IMU).

follow us for social updates


  1. Source of Information: Buddy4Study app compiles details on scholarships/fellowships from government websites and private scholarship sources. Links to the official sources accompany each listing detail pages.
  2. Non-affiliation: The Buddy4Study app is not associated with any government entity in India or elsewhere. When featuring government scholarships, we rely on publicly accessible information from central and state government websites in India.