🎓 Scholarship Alerts 🔔

List of All Live Scholarship Applications 2020-21 - Apply Online

Apply For New Scholarship
Categories: AdmissionBHUDUNews

DU, JNU, BHU Admissions – Common Aptitude Test from 2021

In line with the New Education Policy (NEP 2020), the Centre is planning to implement a “high quality aptitude test” for admissions into Delhi University, Banaras Hindu University, Jawaharlal Nehru University, and other central universities from the academic session 2021-22. In order to do so effectively, the government has set up a seven-member committee which will recommend modalities and methods of implementation of this computer-based Common Aptitude Test for admission to UG programmes in Central universities. 

This decision is intended to reduce the dependency of students and universities on Class 12 board exams. Moreover, ‘a single common test for all’ will create a level-playing field for students giving examinations under various (30+) boards in India (state, private and central). As per the MoE (Ministry of Education) officials, this move will give the universities a chance to enroll students with aptitude for their chosen course and eliminate the need to conduct multiple entrance tests.

Common Entrance Test for Central Universities – What we know so far?

  1. Amit Khare, Higher Education Secretary has said that the “common entrance test will be mandatory for admission to all Central universities from 2021-22 session.”
  2. This Common Aptitude Test will be computer-based.
  3. This test will be conducted by the NTA (National Testing Agency).
  4. The Common Aptitude Test will assess the candidates’ general as well as subject-specific capabilities.
  5. Verbal, quantitative, logic and reasoning questions are expected to be a part of the test (apart from the subject specific questions based on the undergraduate programmes candidates apply for).
  6. Proposals for conducting the test twice a year were part of the initial recommendations for the Common Aptitude Test. However, for the 2021-22 session, the test is planned to be conducted just once.
  7. UGC Chairperson professor DP Singh has stated that the seven-member committee is expected to submit its recommendations within a month.
  8. The seven-member committee shall be headed by Prof. RP Tiwari, Vice Chancellor of Central University of Punjab, Bathinda. Other members will include the Director General of NTA, Joint Secretary (central universities) of the MoE, besides vice chancellors of Delhi University, Banaras Hindu University, Central University of South Bihar, and Central University of Mizoram.

Varalika vij

Published by
Varalika vij

Recent Posts

CBSE Board Exams 2021 – No Postponement Expected; Authorities Assure Adherence to Guidelines

As the coronavirus cases around the country are on a surge, several students, teachers, parents,…

6 hours ago

IBPS SO Cut Off – How to Check, Expected & Previous Years’ Cutoffs

IBPS SO cut off is the minimum marks or rank that an aspirant must secure…

21 hours ago

IBPS SO Application – Dates, How to Check Status & Submit, Fee, Links

Institute of Banking Personnel Selection will release the official IBPS SO notification 2021 to fill…

3 days ago

TS EAMCET Cutoff – How to Download, Expected & Previous Years’ Cutoffs

TS EAMCET cut-off is the minimum marks or rank that the candidates must secure to…

4 days ago

CTET Exam Pattern – Paper 1 & Paper 2 Pattern, Marking, Syllabus

Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) formulates the CTET exam pattern (separately for Paper I…

4 days ago

AP EAMCET Counselling – Dates, Eligibility, Process, Seat Allotment

Andhra Pradesh State Council of Higher Education (APSCHE) will conduct the AP EAMCET counselling for…

4 days ago

AP EAMCET Result – Dates, How to Check, Normalisation of Marks

Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University (JNTU), Kakinada releases the AP EAMCET result on behalf of APSCHE.…

4 days ago

IBPS RRB Result – Dates, How to Check, Calculating Marks

IBPS or Institute of Banking and Personnel Selection is expected to release the IBPS RRB…

5 days ago

UPCET Counselling – Detailed Process, Seat Reservations

UPCET Exam Date Announced: UPCET 2021 will be held on 18 May 2021. The last…

5 days ago

UPCET Answer Key – Assess/Object to Answer Key, Calculate Scores

National Testing Agency or NTA releases the provisional UPCET answer key after the commencement of…

5 days ago

UPCET Cut off – How to Check, Expected & Previous Years’ Cut Offs, Ranks

UPCET cut off is the minimum marks or score that an aspirant must secure to…

5 days ago

CTET Syllabus – Paper 1 & 2 Topics,Weightage of Questions,Exam Pattern

The Central Board of Secondary Education prescribes the CTET syllabus for Paper I & Paper…

5 days ago

UPCET Application Form – New Dates, How to Submit, Fee, Direct Links

UPCET Exam Date Announced: UPCET 2021 will be held on 18 May 2021. The last…

6 days ago

UPCET Syllabus – Paper wise Syllabus, Preparation

NTA is in charge of releasing the UPCET syllabus 2021. From this year on, the…

7 days ago

UPCET – Dates, Eligibility, Admission Process, Syllabus & More

UPCET Exam Date Announced: UPCET 2021 will be held on 18 May 2021. The last…

1 week ago

IGNOU January 2021 Session – Registration Deadline Extended

New Delhi, 1 April 2021 - Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) has further extended…

2 weeks ago

SSC CGL Result 2018 To Release Soon – Check Steps, Salary, and Other Details

New Delhi, 1 April 2021 - Staff Selection Commission or SSC will soon release the…

2 weeks ago

SBI Clerk Cutoff – Dates, Expected & Previous Years’ Cutoffs

State Bank of India releases the SBI Clerk cutoff along with the SBI Clerk exam…

2 weeks ago